Hello World

My name is Whitney Godwin, and I’m a 23 year old journalism student at the P.I. Reed School of Journalism at West Virginia University. I’m currently in the second year of my Masters Program pursuing an MSJ. I graduated with a BSJ with an emphasis in Television Journalism from the School of Journalism here at WVU in 2011. Upon graduation I am  interested pursuing a career in television production and online media.

DSC_0579   My goal has always been to help others, so I wish to  take my journalism background in video and online media and apply it to the benefit of nonprofit organizations, specifically Christian organizations. I was raised in church since birth, and I still continue to actively pursue my faith in Jesus today. I attend Crossroads Church here in Morgantown, and actively participate in CRU , a campus ministry, and community group and Bible Study weekly. My blog will focus on how nonprofit organizations can use and tailor social media and online media practices to further their missions, goals, and organization.

Despite a busy schedule, I do a lot of freelance video production for various organizations. Some of my favorite videos have been those for nonprofit organizations in an effort to share their mission and create awareness. My favorite PSA I’ve worked on was a video for the “R-Word” Project. The video features a collection of WVU students, athletes, faculty, and coaches requesting we stop the use of the word “retard” in every day speech.154300_472037076182159_1903998678_n

I currently work as a the Television Graduate Assistant at the P.I. Reed School of Journalism. I love to twirl baton, and I serve as one of four feature twirlers here with the Pride of West Virginia, the Mountaineer Marching Band. I’ve been twirling competitively since age 3, and in my free time, I teach baton to little girls aspiring to be college and competitive twirlers. I love being busy and working hard. I’m excited to see where life takes me.

Leave a Reply

