Reflecting on the Daily Blog Challenge

pen_and_paper

A blog a day can seem challenging when you’re not used to it, but after awhile the words began to flow freely. Photo courtesy of Paul Theroux of The Wall Street Journal.

When I first received the blog-a-day assignment it seemed daunting. Especially with such a busy schedule, I had no idea how I was going to get this done. I even had a blog post due on game day, and I knew I would be traveling between the posting hours of 9am and 4pm. I struggled to find enough topics because I already had blogs planned out for the semester and I was using them all up in a week. The worst thing was figuring out how to fit a blog in my schedule every day. After All, people make careers out of blogging.

I scheduled my posts to post during the specific time frame and wrote them 24 hours ahead so that they were still timely, and got posted daily. I also relied heavily on my smartphone to be able to post while away from my computer. Another thing I struggled with was figuring out which information and interview portions to use in my blogs. I was overwhelmed with so much relevant information, but I did not want my blogs to be pages long–that’s when I discovered the idea of a blog series.

By Wednesday, it was becoming easier. I had one idea about nonprofits in college towns and found several topics within this idea that I could expand upon. I ended up making it into a four part series. While writing these four blogs, I asked myself questions about the material that presented more topics for me to blog about. By the end of Wednesday I had compiled a list of blog topics that would last me several weeks.

While doing research for my blogs, I realized there are over 400 local nonprofits here in Morgantown. It dawned on me that I had no idea so many nonprofits existed in Morgantown, so many other people, especially people my age probably had no idea either. After exploring the potential college students could bring to the nonprofit community, I wanted to do a profile on one nonprofit every week to expose them to other college students, but also to examine their social networking practices to see how they could improve their volunteer recruitment process, and make examples out of them for nonprofits everywhere. In fact, by working with a few local nonprofits and asking them questions to supplement my blogs, I actually made some very valuable contacts that will help me in my future career.  I was also able to create conversation and find out how nonprofits struggle the most when it comes to social media. This allowed me to see what I can talk about in my blog to help these nonprofits get better with their social media practices.

Overall, blogging daily has several benefits. I found that I like blogging once a day because it keeps me connected to my blogging community, and facilitates more topic ideas for my own blog. I’ve also found that blogging daily allows for more communication among readers. For example, I posted a link to my specific blog post on Twitter, and a couple people asked for the link to my blog to read more. I’ve also made more connections with nonprofit organizations and nonprofit volunteers in the Morgantown community that can provide insights to my future posts. The best thing about the blog a day are the relationships I’m starting to build and develop with the local nonprofit community. After every interview, I felt a better sense of insight, and a need to write and help.  I also learned that if you blog frequently, your blog will not be perfect. As a perfectionist, this is not ideal for me, but it makes sense. I began to notice that I really focused on content quality over polishing what I have. Your blog can’t be sloppy, but I do think readers are willing to forgive your imperfections if you have something relevant to say. If anything, I’ve found that I want to blog more often. I think this week, even though I’m only required to blog twice, I will be inclined to blog more, just because there’s so much to talk about.

Leave a Reply

